• It is illegal for learner’s permit and
intermediate license holders to use any
hand-held electronic device while operating
a motor vehicle, except in a life-threatening
• It is illegal for a person under age 21
to drive after consuming any alcohol.
Even prescription medicines or over-the-
counter medications taken in the proper
dosages can impair you as much as alcohol
or illegal drugs. Driving while impaired
may result in the driver losing their
license for at least 6 months, payment
of court fines, community service, a
treatment program, or a combination
of any of these.
• Every driver and front seat passenger must
wear a seat belt at all times while the vehicle
is being operated. No seat belt use means the
driver can be stopped and ticketed without
any other offense.
To retrieve a PDF of this Injury Prevention Service Graduated Driver Licensing-GDL brochure:
1 You must have a camera-enabled smartphone and a QR reader application.
2 Open the application and aim your camera at the QR code.
3 The website will open the PDF or a link will appear for you to click, depending on the functionality of the application.
This institution is an equal opportunity provider.
This publication, issued by the Oklahoma State Department of Health, was authorized by Terry L. Cline, PhD, Commissioner of Health. 4,600 copies were printed in June 2013 by the Oklahoma State Department of Health at a cost of $1,334. Copies have been deposited with the Publications Clearinghouse of the Oklahoma Department of Libraries.