Like several other states, Oklahoma enacted legislation to provide for pension payments to Confederate veterans or to their indigent widows. By law, the administrator of the pension fund had to be either a Confederate veteran or the descendant of one. To qualify for pensions, applicants had to provide proof of honorable discharge and of at least one year's residency in Oklahoma prior to making application. In addition, they had to furnish evidence that they did not own more that $2,000 worth property and that they had an annual income of $500 or less. Along with formal applications for benefits, persons seeking pensions frequently submitted "proofs of service" affidavits, and other documents.