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Insure Oklahoma/O-EPIC  
Member Handbook 
 

 
 
Insure Oklahoma/O-EPIC Helpline................ 1-888-365-3742 

 ……............................................................. TDD/1-405-416-6848 
                                              

           Monday through Friday 7:30 a.m. to 5:30 p.m. 

 
 

Call the Insure Oklahoma/O-EPIC Helpline for 
help with:   
*Finding a Primary Care Provider (PCP) in your area 

    *Changing your PCP 
    *Requesting a Medical ID card  
    *Questions about benefits and services 
    *What to do if you move 
    *Eligibility and enrollment questions  
    *Bills for health care services 
    *Invoices for premiums 
                                                              

                                  

  

        For questions about verification of Prior  

       Authorizations call 1-888-365-3742, option 2.      

        Monday through Friday 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. 
 
 
   

This publication, printed by O. U. Printing Services is issued by The Oklahoma Health Care Authority as authorized by  
Title VI and Title VII of the 1964 Civil Rights Act and the Rehabilitation Act of 1973 5000 copies have been prepared and 
distributed at a cost of $5,495.00. Copies have been deposited with the Publications Clearinghouse of the Oklahoma 
Department of Libraries. [74 O.S.2001 § 3105 (C)] Order additional copies on the OHCA Web site www.okhca.org.  
 

Please note – These help lines are not equipped to deal with emergencies.   
For any health emergency, contact your PCP or local emergency room. 

http://www.okhca.org/
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Insure Oklahoma/O-EPIC 
 
 

elcome to the Insure Oklahoma/O-EPIC Individual Plan program for 
working Oklahomans. This member handbook has been prepared by the 

Oklahoma Health Care Authority to serve as a guide for plan benefits and how to 
receive services. This handbook is a summary of eligibility requirements, medical 
coverage, co-payment, definitions of terms, and other rules of the Insure 
Oklahoma/O-EPIC Individual Plan. Read your handbook carefully. 
 
 
This plan provides coverage to eligible: 

• Uninsured self-employed individuals 
• Workers whose employers do not provide a qualified health plan 
• Workers who are not eligible to take part in their employer’s health plan 
• Workers who have a disability and have a Federal Ticket to Work  
• The unemployed who are approved for unemployment benefits in 

Oklahoma 
• College Students ages 19 through 22 
 

 
If you have questions about specific benefits or the plan in general, contact: 
 

Insure Oklahoma/O-EPIC Helpline 
1-888-365-3742 

TDD/405-416-6848 
Monday through Friday 7:30 a.m. to 5:30 p.m. 

 
 
 
 
 

This handbook is a guide and does not answer every question. 
All benefits are subject to plan and policy rules including eligibility. 

W 
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Insure Oklahoma/O-EPIC  
 Individual Plan   

 
What is the Insure Oklahoma/O-EPIC Individual Plan? Insure Oklahoma/ 
O-EPIC is run by the Oklahoma Health Care Authority (OHCA). As an Insure 
Oklahoma/O-EPIC Individual Plan member, you can choose an Insure 
Oklahoma/O-EPIC provider for yourself and your spouse if eligible. Your health 
care provider is called your Primary Care Provider (PCP). 
 

Eligibility  
• Your eligibility for the Insure Oklahoma/O-EPIC Individual Plan has 

to be renewed at least every 12 months. 
• You should start your renewal process at least 60 days before the end of 

your annual eligibility. You will receive a Renewal Notice in the mail. 
• You need to complete the renewal process and return any requested 

documentation on time to keep your Insure Oklahoma/O-EPIC 
benefits. 

• If you do not complete your renewal process or return any requested 
documentation, your Insure Oklahoma/O-EPIC benefits will stop. 

 

People Not Eligible for the Insure Oklahoma/O-EPIC 
Individual Plan 
Certain people are not eligible for Insure Oklahoma/O-EPIC even though they 
may be under other portions of the SoonerCare program. They are called 
“exempt.” You and/or a family member will not be eligible in Insure 
Oklahoma/O-EPIC if you are: 

• A dependent under the age of 19  
• Eligible for Medicare or Medicaid (SoonerCare) including SoonerCare 

Choice, etc.  
• Currently enrolled in SoonerPlan (Family Planning Services) or  BCC 

(Breast and Cervical Cancer Treatment Program) 
 If any of the above are enrolled in Insure Oklahoma/O-EPIC, please call the Insure 
Oklahoma/O-EPIC Helpline at 1-888-365-3742 or for the TDD line 405-416-6848.  
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 Coverage for Children 
Free health care coverage is available for qualifying children through SoonerCare 
Choice. Make sure your kids are able to get the care they need to stay well and 
protect your family budget. 
 

Your child can be covered for: 
• Doctor visits 
• Hospitalization 
• Prescriptions 
• Vision care, including eye exams and glasses 
• Dental Care 

 
Please call the SoonerCare Helpline at 1-800-987-7767 or TDD/1-800-757-5979 
for information on how to get these services.  
 

Change in Family Information 

It is important that we have your family’s most current information. To make 
changes, fill out the “Subscriber Change Form” found on the Insure Oklahoma 
website, www.insureoklahoma.org or call the Insure Oklahoma/O-EPIC 
Helpline  to have the form mailed to you. You must fill out a change form for 
any of the following changes: 

• You or a family member move  
• You or a family member change telephone numbers  
• You or a family member changes your name  
• You marry or divorce 
• Your eligible spouse dies 
• You or your eligible spouse gets Social Security benefits, Medicaid 

(SoonerCare) or Medicare 
 

 

Medical I.D. Card 
• Always carry your Medical I.D. card with you. 
• You must show your card every time you get medical or pharmacy 

services. 
• An Insure Oklahoma/O-EPIC Individual Plan Medical I.D. card will 

be sent after your first payment has been received by the due date.  

http://www.insureoklahoma.org/
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EMERGENCY SERVICES  
Call 911 or go 
possible.  Do no  to the nearest emergency room. Call your medical provider as soon as 

t use the Emergency Room for urgent care.  Urgent care is when you get 
sick or hurt and there is no immediate danger.  Call your medical provider for urgent care.  
 
PROVIDERS  
Only claims from OHCA contracted providers will be considered for payment. 
This card does not guarantee eligibility or payment for services. To confirm eligibility call 
nati nwide toll-free 1-800-767-3949; Oklahoma City Metro (405) 840-0650 or access our 
secure Web site at: [www.okhca.org].   

o
 

All other provider inquiries, call the O-EPIC Helpline 1-888-3-OK-EPIC (1-888-365-
374 ). 2

 
 
MEMBERS  
For more information, call the O-EPIC Helpline 1-888-365-3742.  
For TDD Line, call (405) 416-6848.   
For the Patient Advice Line, call 1-800-530-3002. 
   

• Call the Insure Oklahoma/O-EPIC Helpline 1-888-365-3742 to replace 
your Medical I.D. card.  

 
       
 
 
 

 
 

ID No. 
Name 
 RxBIN:    RxPCN: 
 

         COPAY 
              Office Visit:  $$$          Emergency:  $$$

$                                Rx Generic:   $$         Inpatient:      $$$
               Rx Brand:    $$$         Outpatient:   $$$  
    

 
 

 
 
 

 

 
 
 
 
 
 
If you have questions about your health or need medical care, call your PCP first. 
In a medical emergency, call 911 or go to the nearest emergency room. 

 

Office Visit:  $$$         Emergency:   $$$ 
Rx Generic:  $$$        Inpatient:      $$$  
Rx Brand:   $$$      Outpatient:   $$$    
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Getting Started 
 
With Insure Oklahoma/O-EPIC, you choose a health care provider for yourself 
and your spouse, if he or she is also enrolled. This provider is called a Primary 
Care Provider (PCP). First, choose a PCP from the directory that is on the Insure 
Oklahoma/O-EPIC website at www.insureoklahoma.org. If you do not have 
internet access, you may call the Insure Oklahoma/O-EPIC Helpline to select a 
PCP. Next, if you are a new patient to this provider, call and make an 
appointment. 
 

When to call the Insure Oklahoma/O-EPIC Helpline 
• When you are not able to contact your PCP for an appointment 
• To change your PCP 
• To ask for a new Medical I.D. card 
• If you have enrollment or general information questions 
• If you have questions about benefits 
• If you need basic information about the Insure Oklahoma/O-EPIC  

program 
• If you need an enrollment packet or application 
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Choosing Your Provider 
 
Primary Care Provider (PCP) 
Your health care provider is called your Primary Care Provider or PCP. This is 
your “medical home.” The PCP will take care of you and if applicable, your 
spouse’s basic health care needs. You and your spouse can use the same PCP, or 
each of you can have a different PCP. You may want to choose a PCP close to 
your home or place of work. Doctors, physician assistants, or nurse practitioners 
who provide primary care services, can all be PCPs. 
  
If you have questions about your choice of PCPs or if you would like to change 
your PCP, call the Insure Oklahoma/O-EPIC Helpline at 1-888-365-3742.  
 
To find a PCP, you can look in the Insure Oklahoma/O-EPIC Provider 
Directory that is on the Insure Oklahoma/O-EPIC website at 
www.insureoklahoma.org, or you can call the Insure Oklahoma/O-EPIC 
Helpline at 1-888-365-3742. The Insure Oklahoma/O-EPIC Helpline can also 
help:  

 
• If you need a provider directory  
• If you need the name or address of a PCP in your area 
• If you need to know your PCP’s name  

 
Sometimes the PCP you choose is not taking new Insure Oklahoma/O-EPIC 
patients. In this case, you will have to select another PCP. You can change your 
PCP once every 30 days up to four times a year by calling the Insure 
Oklahoma/O-EPIC Helpline. Your PCP change request will not go into effect 
right away. Ask the Insure Oklahoma/O-EPIC Helpline when you can visit your 
new PCP. 
 
What does a PCP do?  

• Routine checkups  
• See you when you are sick or hurt 
• Refer you to a specialist if needed 
• Admit you to the hospital or arrange for you to be admitted 
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Call your PCP when you: 
• Are sick or hurt 
• Need a checkup 
• Need prescription drugs 
• Need health advice 

 
How to Get Service 
• Call and make an appointment with your PCP. 
• If you have not received a Medical I.D. card, your PCP may want to know 

your Social Security Number and date of birth to check eligibility. 
• Pay your co-pay -see pages 18-22 (If you still have questions please call the 

Insure Oklahoma/O-EPIC Helpline 1-888-365-3742) 
 

If you see a provider who is not your PCP or does not have a 
referral from your PCP, you WILL have to pay for the visit and 
you cannot file for payment from Insure Oklahoma/O-EPIC.  
 
Choosing Your PCP If You Are Pregnant 
You can go to your current PCP if he or she provides prenatal care and delivers 
babies. You can get all your basic health care needs and your pregnancy care in 
one place. You may choose to go to any Insure Oklahoma/O-EPIC health care 
provider for your pregnancy care without a referral (self-refer). Make sure you tell 
your PCP who will deliver your baby and where the birth will take place. 
 

Choosing Your PCP If You Are American Indian 
American Indians in the Insure Oklahoma/O-EPIC program must choose a PCP 
from the Insure Oklahoma/O-EPIC Provider Directory.  
 

     How do I enroll? 
• There is a special section in the Provider Directory that lists IHS, Tribal 

and Urban Indian Clinics (I/T/U) that are Insure Oklahoma/O-EPIC 
PCPs. 

• You need to have a CDIB card or be CDIB card eligible for enrollment. 
• To enroll with an I/T/U clinic, you need to contact the Insure 

Oklahoma/O-EPIC Helpline or the clinic of your choice. 
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• You may choose a provider from any section of the directory. 
 

Whether your PCP is an I/T/U provider or not, you can still use the I/T/U clinics for 
medical care without a referral. However, if you need care the I/T/U clinic cannot 
provide (such as contract health,) you will need to get a referral from your PCP for those 
services.  
 

Changing Your PCP 
Call the Insure Oklahoma/O-EPIC Helpline to change your PCP.  
 
 Ask the Insure Oklahoma/O-EPIC Helpline when you can see your new PCP. 
 
You can change PCPs once every 30 days up to four times a year. The Insure 
Oklahoma/O-EPIC Provider Directory is on the Insure Oklahoma/O-EPIC 
website at www.insureoklahoma.org. If the PCP you pick is not taking any more 
patients, you will be asked to choose another PCP. Please do not pick a provider 
from an office that has dismissed or dropped you. 
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How to Get Medical Care 
 
Your First PCP Visit 
Your PCP wants to get to know you and your health care needs. Help your PCP 
take care of you by making an appointment. The first appointment is your PCP’s 
time to get to know you.  

 
When you go to your first appointment: 

• Bring all prescription drugs that you are taking.  
• Tell your PCP about any doctors or counselors you have seen in the 

past. 
• Tell them if you have had any surgeries or about any illnesses you may 

have had. 
• Tell your PCP about any medical equipment you are using and the 

name of the rental company. 
• During your visit, fill out a Release of Medical Information Form. This 

will allow your new PCP to get your old health care records and better 
understand your health care needs. Check with your provider’s staff on 
how to get your records to your new PCP. 

• Ask your PCP any health questions that you may have.  
 

If you need to cancel your appointment, please call the provider’s office and let them 
know at least 24 hours before your appointment.  
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Scheduling Appointments 
Most PCPs need you to call and make an appointment as early as possible. 
You can call the Insure Oklahoma/O-EPIC Helpline to find out your PCP’s 
name and telephone number if you do not know it. Your PCP will decide if 
your needs are routine or urgent. Ask what the PCP’s office hours are so 
you will know when you can make appointments. Do not expect same-day 
appointments, unless your PCP says you need to be seen the same day 
because of your medical needs.  
  

Your PCP will try to see you in the following time frames. Appointments for: 
• Routine or new patient care – You may have to wait up to three weeks.  
• Urgent care – Your PCP will usually see you within 24 hours or make 

arrangements for you to be seen within 24 hours. 
 

When you call to make an appointment, you should always be ready to: 
• Tell the staff why you need an appointment. 
• Give any information the staff might need such as your Insure 

Oklahoma/O-EPIC number, etc. 
 

Other helpful appointment information:  
• Call your PCP’s office if your problem gets worse before your 

scheduled appointment. Ask to speak to the nurse for advice or an 
earlier appointment. 

• Sometimes, even if you have an appointment, you may have to wait to 
see your PCP. He/she can be very busy with emergencies. You may 
even be asked to reschedule your appointment. 

• If you cannot wait and choose to leave, please let the office staff know 
and reschedule your appointment. 

• If you have a hard time getting an appointment, call the Insure 
Oklahoma/O-EPIC Helpline at 1-888-365-3742. 

 
If you go to see a provider who is not your PCP for basic health 
care needs, you WILL have to pay for the visit and you cannot 
file for payment from Insure Oklahoma/O-EPIC.  
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Canceling Appointments 
If something happens and you cannot keep your appointment, please call the 
office. Your provider may dismiss you as a patient if you keep missing your 
appointments. Call at least 24 hours before your appointment if you think you 
will not be able to make it.  
 
If Your PCP Wants You to See a Specialist (Referrals) 
Your PCP will refer you to a specialist when you need one. You will get a referral 
only if your PCP believes you need one. The specialist must be contracted with 
the OHCA. 

• Your PCP will send the specialist a referral form.  
• Make sure the specialist’s office has received your referral form 

BEFORE you call to set up an appointment. Sometimes, the PCP’s 
office will call and set up the appointment for you. 

• You must get a referral BEFORE you go to the specialist. Do not ask 
your PCP for a referral AFTER you have already seen the specialist.  

• If you go to another provider without a referral, you WILL have to pay 
for those services and cannot file for payment from Insure 
Oklahoma/O-EPIC. 

• If your PCP gives you a referral for a service that is not covered under 
the Insure Oklahoma/O-EPIC program, you will have to pay for this 
service. 

• A referral is not a guarantee of payment. 
• If you have questions about a covered service, please call the Insure 

Oklahoma/O-EPIC Helpline at 1-888-365-3742.  
 

  If You Want To See a Specialist:  
Ask your PCP for a referral BEFORE going to the specialist. If you think you 
need a referral but your PCP will not give you one, call the Insure 
Oklahoma/O-EPIC Helpline at 1-888-365-3742.  
 
You MUST have a referral from your PCP in order to see another provider 
or it will be your responsibility to pay for the visit.   
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Services That Do Not Need a Referral 
(Self-Referral Services): 

• Emergency Care – If you think you have a true medical emergency, go 
to the nearest emergency room or call your local emergency number. 
The emergency room visit does not require a referral. If other services 
are performed, such as surgery, or you are admitted to the hospital, a 
referral will be needed. 

• Outpatient Behavioral Health Services –You can ask your PCP to help 
you get care if you need it. 

• OB Care – Pregnancy care 
• Indian Health Benefits – Members who are eligible do not have to have 

a referral to go to any IHS, Tribal, or Urban Indian Health Clinic 
provider.  

 
O-EPIC/Insure Oklahoma can only pay providers that are contracted with the 
OHCA.  There may not be any providers out-of-state that are contracted with the 
OHCA. 
 

Emergency Care: 
 What is an emergency? 

• You could be hurt, permanently disabled, or die if you don’t get the 
care you need right away. 

 

 If you have an emergency: 
• Go to the nearest emergency room or call 911 (or your local emergency 

number).    
• Call your PCP as soon as possible so he/she will know about the 

emergency.  
• Your PCP will need to manage your follow-up care. 
• You do not need a referral to go to the emergency room. 
 

 Examples of emergencies are: 
• Extreme bleeding   •   Accidental poisoning  
• Broken bones   •   Miscarriage 
• Rape     •   Burns with blisters 
• Pain and tightness in chest •   Drug overdoses 
• Chest or head injuries  
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• Decreased consciousness or not being able to respond to questions 
• A hard time breathing or extreme shortness of breath 
     
If you are not sure you have an emergency, call: 

• Your PCP’s office if it is during office hours and ask if a nurse is 
available and explain your symptoms  

• The Patient Advice Line at 1-800-530-3002 or Relay Service 711 or 
TDD/1-800-722-0353 after 5 p.m. 

 
Care After an Emergency Room Visit  
If you went to the Emergency Room, after care may be needed. It is important to 
follow all after care instructions. Be sure to call your PCP who will help you with 
your follow up care including specialty care.  Your PCP can even help if you have 
problems filling prescriptions.   

 
Urgent Care (Not an Emergency) 
Urgent care is when you get sick or hurt and there is no immediate danger of 
death or permanent disability. You may need attention soon, but it is not an 
emergency.  

 
 If you need urgent care services: 

• Call your PCP’s office during office hours and ask if a nurse is available. 
Try to call early in the day and be sure to explain your symptoms.   

• Your PCP will usually see you within 24 hours or arrange for you to be 
seen. 

• You may call the Patient Advice Line from 5 p.m. to 8 a.m. weekdays or 
anytime on the weekends and holidays. The nurses have lots of 
information to help you. 

 
 
 
 
In an emergency, call 911 or your local emergency phone number or go to the nearest hospital 
Emergency Room (ER). 
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Routine Care (Non-Urgent) 
Your PCP will try to see you within three weeks for non-urgent care.  
 
After Hours 
If you become ill or injured after regular office hours, call your PCP or the 
Patient Advice Line, describe your problem, and follow the instructions they give 
you. 

 
Out-of-State Care 
O-EPIC/Insure Oklahoma will only pay providers that have a contract with the 
OHCA.  If you get medical services from a provider that does not have a contract 
with the OHCA, you will have to pay for those services.  Some out-of-state 
providers have a contract with the OHCA.  This includes out-of-state emergency 
rooms.  Call the O-EPIC/Insure Oklahoma Helpline if you have questions. 
 

For emergency out-of-state care: 
• Go to the nearest medical provider (doctor, clinic or hospital).  
• You do not need a referral from your PCP if you have an emergency. 
• The doctor must contract with Insure Oklahoma/O-EPIC to get paid for 

the services provided to you or your covered spouse. 
 

 For urgent out-of-town care: 
• Call your PCP and he/she will tell you how to get the care you need. 
• Call the toll-free Patient Advice Line after 5 p.m. weekdays or anytime on 

the weekends and holidays. 
• The doctor must contract with Insure Oklahoma/O-EPIC to get paid for 

the services provided to you or your covered spouse. 
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Services and Benefits 
 

Remember! A referral, and in some cases, a prior authorization from your PCP 
is required before you schedule an appointment with any other health care 
provider or specialist. The only exceptions are emergencies and those services 
listed in the “Self-Referral Services” section. 
 

List of Covered/Not Covered Services 
The covered services listed below are available for Insure Oklahoma/O-EPIC 
members. Changes in your covered services will be mailed to you.  All services 
are subject to medical need.  This is NOT a complete list.        
 
If you have questions regarding a certain service not listed, please contact the Insure 
Oklahoma/O-EPIC helpline at 1-888-365-3742.  
 
**Lifetime maximum of $1 million per member  

Service Co-Payment Benefit Detail/Limits 

Ambulance None Not covered for adults. 

Ambulatory  
Surgery Centers 

$25 co-pay per 
visit Covered as medically necessary. 

Anesthesia None 
Eligible services for covered illness or surgery, 
including services provided by a certified 
registered nurse anesthetist.  

Asst. Surgeon and 
Anesthesiologist  None 

Covered if in attendance during surgery. 
Covered if surgical procedure requires an 
assistant. 

Behavioral Health 
Outpatient 

$10 co-pay per 
outpatient visit 

Outpatient services limited to case 
management, behavioral health and PACT 
services (Requires prior authorization). 
 
Psychiatrist visits included in four physician 
services limit per month. 

Behavioral Health-
Inpatient 

$50 co-pay per 
admission Inpatient acute care only (DRG).   
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Service Co-Payment Benefit Detail/Limits 

Blood and Blood 
Products None 

Processing, storage and administration of 
blood and blood products in inpatient and 
outpatient settings.  

Case Management None Covered as medically necessary; Requires 
prior authorization 

Chelation Therapy  None Covered for heavy metal poisoning only. 

Chemotherapy and 
Radiation Therapy 

$10 co-pay per 
visit Covered as medically necessary. 

Clinic services 
including Renal 
Dialysis services 

None for 
dialysis; $10 co-
pay per office 

visit 

Covered as medically necessary. 

Dental Services None Not covered for adults. Limited dental 
benefits for pregnant women.  

Diabetic Supplies $5 co-pay per 
prescription 

One glucometer- one spring-loaded lancet 
device- three replacement batteries per year- 
200 glucose strips and lancets per month, 
additional supplies require prior authorization; 
not included in DME $15,000 max. 

Diagnostic X-ray, 
including ultrasound 

$25 co-pay per 
scan MRI, 

MRA, PET, 
CT scans only 

Covered as medically necessary. 

Dialysis None Covered as medically necessary. 

Donor Transplant None Not covered for adults.  

Durable Medical 
Equipment and 
Medical Supplies 

$5 per item for 
durable/non-

durable 
supplies; $25 

co-pay per item 
for DME 

Covered as medically necessary with $15,000 
annual maximum.  
 
If rental item, co-pay is per month. 
 
(Exceptions:  Glucometer ($5 co-pay) and 
Oxygen ($5 co-pay), not included in $15,000 
annual maximum. 

Early and Periodic 
Screening, Diagnosis 
and Treatment 
(EPSDT) for Children 

None Not covered for adults 19 and older. 

Service Co-Payment Benefit Detail/ Limits 

Emergency Room $30 co-pay per Covered as medically necessary. 
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Services occurrence, 
waived if 
admitted 

Family Planning 
services and supplies None 

Birth control information and supplies- Pap 
smears- Pregnancy tests- Tubal ligations and 
vasectomies. 

FQHC services  $10 co-pay per 
visit 

Covered as medically necessary. 

Hearing Aids None Not covered for adults.  

Home Health Services None Not covered for adults. 

Hospice None Not covered for adults.  

Immunizations  $10 co-pay per 
immunization 

Covered as recommended by the Advisory 
Committee of Immunization Practices. 

Inpatient Hospital 
Services (Acute Care 
Only) 

$50 co-pay per 
admission Covered as medically necessary.  

Laboratory None Covered as medically necessary.  

Maternity $10 co-pay first 
visit High risk OB/pregnancy not covered. 

Mammogram 
(Radiological or 
Digital) 

None 
Medical necessary screening mammography.  
Additional follow-up mammograms are 
covered when medically necessary.  

Nurse Midwife services 

$10 co-pay per 
visit; if not 
pregnancy 

related 

Covered as medically necessary.  Included in 
four physician services visit limit.  

Optometric or Optical 
services, including 
eyeglasses 

None Not covered for adults.  

 
 
 
 
 

Service Co-Payment Benefit Detail/ Limits 
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Oral Surgery 

$50 per 
admission 
Inpatient 
Hospital 

 
$25 per visit 
Outpatient 

Hospital/Facility 

Includes removal of tumors or cysts. Does not 
include removal of wisdom teeth.  

Orthodontics None Not covered for adults.  

Outpatient Hospital 
Services 

(a) $25 co-pay 
per visit 

(b) $10 per visit 

(a)  Covered as medically necessary. 
(b) Therapeutic radiology or chemotherapy 
on an outpatient basis without limitation to the 
number of treatments per month for persons 
with proven malignancies or opportunistic 
infections. 

PCP visits $10 co-pay per 
visit 

Included in four physician services visit limit 
per month. 

Perinatal Dental None Limited dental benefits for pregnant women 
Physician services, 
including preventive 
services 

$10 co-pay per 
visit 

Included in four physician services visit limit.  
One preventive visit allowed per year; 
included in four visit limit per month. 

Prescription Drugs and 
insulin 

$5 co-pay 
generic 

prescription 
$10 co-pay per 

brand-name 
prescription 

Limited to six per month; three may be brand-
name.  Prenatal vitamins and smoking 
cessation products do not count toward the six 
prescription limit.  

Private duty nursing None Not covered for adults.  
Prosthetic devices None Not covered for adults.  
 
Smoking Cessation 
Product Therapy 
 

$5 generic 
$10 single 

brand-name 

Limited coverage, up to 3 month supply 
without a prior authorization. Products do not 
count against prescription drug limits.  

Specialty clinic visits $10 co-pay per 
visit Included in four physician services visit limit. 
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Service Co-Payment Benefit Detail/ Limits 

Substance Abuse 
Treatment(Outpatient)  

$10 co-pay per 
visit 

Covered as medically necessary with prior 
authorization.  

Therapies (PT, OT, 
Speech) 

$10 co-pay per 
visit  

Hospital based only.  Limited to 15 per 
discipline per calendar year.  

Transplants None Not covered for adults. 

Transportation (non-
emergency or 
emergency) to obtain 
covered medical care 

None Not covered for adults. 

Tuberculosis services $10 co-pay per 
visit 

Covered as medically necessary.  

 
 

Care Management 
The Care Management team helps coordinate medical services for Insure 
Oklahoma/O-EPIC members who have complex and/or unusual health care 
needs.  
 

Services provided by Care Management include: 
• Help for health care providers with complex discharge planning. 
• Education and help for: 
  * High service users  
  * The very sick who have problems keeping up with medical care 
 

Care Management can be reached at 1-877-252-6002. 
 
Inpatient: Patient stays longer than 24 hours and receives room and 
board from the hospital/facility. 
 
Outpatient: Patient stays no longer than 24 hours in the 
hospital/facility and does not receive room and board.  
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Behavioral Health and Substance Abuse Services 
 
Do I need a referral from my PCP to visit a Behavioral Health provider? 
• No – Insure Oklahoma/O-EPIC members do not need a referral for 

outpatient behavioral health or substance abuse services, but telling your 
PCP will make it easier to manage your care. 

 
What behavioral health and substance abuse services are available through 
Insure Oklahoma/O-EPIC?  
• Services from a psychiatrist contracted with Insure Oklahoma/O-EPIC can 

diagnose conditions and prescribe medicine. A few see patients for therapy 
services. You will need to contact a specific psychiatrist in your area to see 
if he or she is taking new clients. You also should ask if they provide the 
services you need. Call the Behavioral Health Helpline at 1-800-652-2010 
from 8:00 a.m. through 5:00 p.m. Monday through Friday for a list of 
psychiatrists in your area. 

• Outpatient behavioral health agencies or substance abuse agencies provide 
various services. These can include outpatient therapy and rehabilitation, 
psychological testing and evaluation and medication management services. 
Many also provide case management services for people who need more 
intense services. These agencies can assess your needs and explain what 
services you need. The Oklahoma Department of Mental Health and 
Substance Abuse Services is the largest outpatient behavioral 
health/substance abuse provider in the state. Please call your local agency 
to see if the services they provide fit your needs. The Behavioral Health 
Helpline at 1-800-652-2010 from 8:00 a.m. through 5:00 p.m. Monday 
through Friday for a list of agencies in your area. 

 
Does the Insure Oklahoma/O-EPIC Individual Plan provide residential 
substance abuse services? 
• The Insure Oklahoma/O-EPIC Individual Plan does not provide coverage 

for any residential substance abuse service except medical detoxification. If 
you need detoxification help, contact your local Insure Oklahoma/O-EPIC 
contracted hospital. For information on residential substance abuse 
services, contact the Oklahoma Department of Mental Health and 
Substance Abuse Services. 
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Reachout Hotline   Safeline   Teenline  
1-800-522-9054   1-800-522-7233  1-800-522-8336 

 
For more information, call the Insure Oklahoma/O-EPIC Helpline at 1-888-365-3742 
from 7:30 a.m. through 5:30 p.m. Monday through Friday.  

 
Family Planning 
Family planning can help you avoid unwanted or unplanned pregnancies. It can 
also help detect serious health problems that could affect you or your unborn 
child if you become pregnant. Members may get family planning services from 
any Insure Oklahoma/O-EPIC contracted family planning provider without a 
referral. 

 
Some family planning benefits are: 

• Family planning physical exams 
• Laboratory tests 
• Pregnancy tests 
• Information on birth control 
• Contraceptive devices 

 
Dental Services (Teeth) 
Dental services for members are not a covered benefit regardless of the diagnosis.  

 
Limited dental benefits for pregnant women.  Call 1-888-365-3742 for more 
information.  You must use a dentist contracted with OHCA. 

 

Vision Services (Eyes) 
Vision services for members are not covered except for treatment of eye disease 
or eye injuries.  

 
Hearing Services (Ears)  
Hearing services for members are not a covered benefit. 
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Services That Are Not Covered 
Insure Oklahoma/O-EPIC does not cover everything. Below is a list of some 
common services that are not covered or paid for. This is only a partial list. 

 
• Services that your PCP or Insure Oklahoma/O-EPIC does not consider 

medically necessary 
• Any medical service when the member refuses to allow release of 

information needed to make a medical decision 
• Services not considered medically necessary 
• Organ transplants 
• Treatment for obesity 
• Procedures, services and supplies related to sex transformation 
• Supportive devices for the feet (orthotics) except for the diagnosis of 

diabetes 
• Cosmetic surgery 
• Over-the-counter drugs, medicines and supplies except contraceptive 

devices and products, and diabetic supplies 
• Experimental procedures, drugs or treatments 
• Dental services regardless of the diagnosis 
• Vision care and services (including glasses), except services treating 

diseases or injuries to the eye 
• Chiropractic, Acupuncture and Osteopathic Manipulation therapy 
• Hearing services 
• Transportation (air or ground) 
• Rehabilitation (Inpatient) 
• Cardiac rehabilitation 
• Allergy Testing and Treatment 
• Hospice  
• Temporomandibular Joint Dysfunction (TMD)(TMJ) 
• Ultraviolet Treatment-Actinotherapy 
• Genetic Counseling 
• Infertility Services 
• Fertility Treatments 
• Sterilization Reversal 
• Christian Science Nurse 
• Christian Science Practitioner 
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• Skilled Nursing Facility 
• Long-Term Care 
• Standby Services 
• Thermograms 
• Services of a Lactation Consultant 
• Bariatric surgery 
• Residential Treatment Centers 

 
You Will Have to Pay for Services If: 

• You receive services that are not covered 
• You get services from another provider that requires a referral without 

getting one from your PCP 
• You get services from a provider that does not accept Insure 

Oklahoma/O-EPIC 
 

Patient Advice Line 
• Health professionals at this toll-free line can give you home care tips and 

answer medical questions.  
• The Patient Advice Line is available 5 p.m. to 8 a.m. weekdays or anytime 

on weekends and holidays. 
• If you speak a language other than English and need help communicating, 

the Patient Advice Line can help. Translation services are offered to help 
you and your PCP. 

• If you are not sure if you have an emergency, call your PCP and ask if a 
nurse is available to speak to you, OR call the Patient Advice Line. 

• The Patient Advice Line cannot give you a referral to another provider.  
• The Patient Advice Line gives advice only. 
• Call 1-800-530-3002 5 p.m. to 8 a.m. weekdays, weekends and holidays  
• Relay Service 711 or 1-800-722-0353 (TDD) 
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 You Have Rights and      
Responsibilities 

 

Members’ Rights and Responsibilities 
 

As a member of Insure Oklahoma/O-EPIC, you have rights. These 
rights include but are not limited to: 

• Getting information in a way that is easy to understand 
• Being treated with respect and dignity and having a right to privacy 
• Taking part in decisions about your medical care 
• Receiving information on available treatment choices and courses of care 
• Voicing concerns about Insure Oklahoma/O-EPIC or care provided 
• Making advance directives (Living Wills) 
• Having access to your medical records as stated by federal and state laws 
• Not being discriminated against by your health care provider based on 

your age, sex, race, physical or mental handicap, national origin, or 
type/degree of illness or condition  

• Being able to change your PCP once every 30 days up to four times a year 
by calling the Insure Oklahoma/O-EPIC Helpline 

• Prompt resolutions of issues you raise 
 

As a member of Insure Oklahoma/O-EPIC, you have responsibilities. 
These responsibilities include but are not limited to: 

• Picking an Insure Oklahoma/O-EPIC  PCP  
• Reading and following the rules of Insure Oklahoma/O-EPIC 
• Telling the Insure Oklahoma/O-EPIC Helpline about any change in 

address. You must also tell them anything that may affect your eligibility, 
such as if you got married or divorced or had any deaths in your family. 

• Following the treatment plans and guidelines that your PCP gives you 
• Scheduling appointments and keeping them 
• Calling your PCP at least 24 hours before any appointment you cannot 

keep 
• Providing information needed by staff to help care for you, including 
     telling them about your symptoms 
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Confidentiality (Right to Privacy) 
The law says that some information is private. Certain information cannot be 
shared without your permission. Private things are your name, address, and 
health services you receive. This also includes income eligibility, finances, social 
conditions, and any medical information. 

 
Getting a Second Medical Opinion 
If your doctor wants you to have treatment or surgery, you may ask for a second 
medical opinion. Talk with your PCP about a referral for another opinion. 
 
 If you are denied a second opinion, you can: 

• Call the Insure Oklahoma/O-EPIC Helpline, which will send a report to 
the Oklahoma Health Care Authority  

 
Removal from Your PCP 
Your PCP cannot stop seeing you as a patient because your health gets worse. 
However, he/she can remove you if: 

• You move out of the PCP’s area 
• Your behavior is disruptive  
• You are verbally abusive (threatening) to the PCP, to their office staff, or to 

other patients 
• You regularly miss scheduled appointments without telling your PCP at 

least 24 hours before the appointment 
• You have been previously dismissed by the provider or others in that office 
• You have not paid your co-pay or you have an outstanding balance 
• You are no longer eligible for the Insure Oklahoma/O-EPIC Individual 

Plan 
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Complaints or Problems 
We want you to be happy with the Insure Oklahoma/O-EPIC Individual Plan. 
We are here to help you if you have questions or problems. Talking about a 
problem or filing a complaint or formal grievance will not affect your 
membership or benefits with Insure Oklahoma/O-EPIC. 
 

Call the Insure Oklahoma/O-EPIC Helpline if you have problems with Insure 
Oklahoma/O-EPIC or its providers. We want to know. If you don’t like the 
answer you are given, you may ask to speak with an Insure Oklahoma/O-EPIC 
Helpline supervisor. You may also mail us a letter telling us about your problem. 
The letter will need to have the “who, what, when, where and why” of your 
complaint. Insure Oklahoma/O-EPIC will review your letter. You will get a 
response to your complaint in 10 days if it is medically related and 20 days if it is 
not. Mail your letter to:  

 

Insure Oklahoma/O-EPIC 
Oklahoma Health Care Authority 
Attention: Docket Clerk 
Legal Division 
P.O. Box 18497 
Oklahoma City, OK 73154-0497 

 

If you have any questions about filing a formal grievance or complaint, you may 
contact the Oklahoma Health Care Authority at 405-522-7217 or TDD/405-522-
7182. 
 

Living Wills (Advance Directive) 
A living will is for people 18 or older. A living will allows you to tell people how 
you want to be treated if you cannot talk or make decisions for yourself. You can 
also list care you do or do not want to receive. For example, some people do not 
want to be put on life-support machines if they go into a coma.  
 

These papers are also called “Advance Directives for Health Care.” You may call 
toll-free 1-877-283-4113 to request the “Advance Directives” form. You will get a 
brochure with instructions on how to fill out the form. You may also get a living 
will at office supply stores, pharmacies or a lawyer’s office. Ask your family, your 
PCP or someone you trust to help you in these matters.  
 

Other Things To Know 
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If You Have Other Insurance 
If you have other medical coverage, you must give this information to the Insure 
Oklahoma/O-EPIC Individual Plan. The law says this information must be 
shared.  

• To report other insurance or if you have questions about other 
insurance coverage you can call the OHCA Third Party Liability Unit 
at 1-888-365-3742.  

• If you do have some other coverage besides your Insure Oklahoma/  
O-EPIC Individual Plan, you should know one important thing: You 
must still follow the rules of both the Insure Oklahoma/O-EPIC 
program and your private insurance carrier. 

• Your private insurance will be billed first.  
 

 
What to Do If You Get a Bill 
Usually, you do not receive a bill from an Insure Oklahoma/O-EPIC provider. 
Sometimes, you will get a “statement” from a provider that is not a bill. If you are 
not sure, call the provider and ask if you have been billed.  
 
There may be times you are responsible for charges if: 

• You or your spouse received services that are not covered 
• You missed paying a co-pay 
• You do not have a referral from your PCP for services that require a 

referral 
• You or your spouse received services from a provider who does not accept 

Insure Oklahoma/O-EPIC 
• If you miss an appointment and do not call at least 24 hours in advance to 

cancel 
 

 
If you receive a bill and do not think that you are responsible for the charges, call 
the Insure Oklahoma/O-EPIC Helpline at 1-888-365-3742 from 7:30 a.m. 
through 5:30 p.m. Monday through Friday. Give the following information: 
 

• The date of the service 
• The amount being charged 



Insure Oklahoma/O-EPIC Helpline · 1-888-365-3742 
1-405-416-6848 TDD · Monday-Friday 7:30 am-5:30 pm 

  www.insureoklahoma.org 
revised 3/31/09 

31

• Who the bill is from 
• Why you are being billed 

 
It is a good idea to have the bill with you when you call. The representative will 
help you understand what you have received and whether you could be 
responsible for payment. 
 
Questions to Ask About Care and Treatment Choices 
It is your right as a member of Insure Oklahoma/O-EPIC to take part in your 
care and to know what to expect. Sometimes it is hard to know what to ask. The 
following are a few questions that you can ask when talking to a provider about 
care and treatment.  
 
 When a test is suggested: 

• What reason is there for this test? What problem are we looking for? 
• What will the test tell us? If the test finds a problem, what will happen 

next? 
 
 When treatment or intervention is suggested: 

• What is the problem? Why is this a problem? How serious is it? When do 
we start treatment? 

• Describe the treatment: How is it done? Will it solve the problem? 
• What are the side effects? 
• What else can we do? Are there other types of treatment (including waiting 

or doing nothing)? 
 

 In an emergency, you may not be able to get answers to these questions. The provider should 
tell you how serious and urgent the problem is. 
 
 



Insure Oklahoma/O-EPIC Helpline · 1-888-365-3742 
1-405-416-6848 TDD · Monday-Friday 7:30 am-5:30 pm 

  www.insureoklahoma.org 
revised 3/31/09 

32 

Out of Pocket Reimbursement Information 
 

What is covered? 
Expenses that are the responsibility of the individual (member) may be 
reimbursed. These expenses may include premiums and co-pays. Total expenses 
that exceed 5 percent of the individual’s annual household income may be 
reimbursed up to a maximum annual amount (see below for more information 
on the 5 percent limit and the maximum amount). 
 

5 percent of annual household income out of pocket limit 
Please refer to the cover acceptance letter (PMS-9011-D). This letter indicates 
the 5 percent limit (of annual household income) over which the individual 
(including a covered spouse) may be reimbursed by Insure Oklahoma/O-EPIC. 
Individuals must first pay for their covered medical expenses up to the 5 percent 
limit before becoming eligible to receive reimbursement. The individual must 
submit the Out of Pocket claim form with original receipts for reimbursement 
consideration. 
 

Out of Pocket Reimbursement Maximum 
The acceptance letter (PMS-9011-D) also indicates the maximum amount that 
will be reimbursed during an eligible period. The maximum amount will remain 
in effect during the entire eligibility period. The maximum amount is the most 
that an individual (and their eligible Insure Oklahoma/O-EPIC spouse) will 
receive during their eligibility period.  
 

Covered Medical Care 
The medical care received must be for the individual (or the Insure 
Oklahoma/O-EPIC covered spouse) and must be covered and allowed. The 
member is responsible to pay all co-pays due to providers. Members should 
ensure that all medical care is covered by checking their member handbook or 
by calling the Insure Oklahoma/O-EPIC helpline at 1-888-365-3742. 
 
 
If you have any questions about out of pocket expenses or the Insure 
Oklahoma/O-EPIC program, please feel free to call our Insure Oklahoma/O-EPIC helpline at 
1-888-365-3742. 
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OUT OF POCKET EXPENSE REIMBURSEMENT CLAIM FORM 
FOR INSURE OKLAHOMA/O-EPIC 

Instructions 
1) Please PRINT or TYPE.  Use only BLUE or BLACK ink to complete this form.  Failure to provide complete, 

accurate information will result in a non-paid expense(s). Remember to make copies of the documents you 
are submitting for your own record. 

For additional assistance or information, call our helpline at 1-888-365-3742 or visit our website at 
www.insureoklahoma.org.   For the hearing impaired, call (405) 416-6848 (TDD/TTY). 

2) You MUST attach original documentation (Explanation of Benefits (EOB) or paid receipt) for each expense 
listed below.  A cash register receipt is not acceptable. For a complete list of acceptable documentation see 
the informational packet. 

3) All claim forms must be received no later than 90 days after the end of the applicant’s eligibility period. 

4) Mail to:  Insure Oklahoma/O-EPIC, P.O. Box 54200, Oklahoma City, OK  73154-1200  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
List only the expenses incurred by the applicant and eligible Insure Oklahoma/ O-EPIC household 

member(s).  
(Attach additional page if necessary) 

Person for Whom Expense Was Incurred Date of 
Services 

(mm/dd/yyyy) Name (Last, First, M.I.) 
Social Security 

Number Expense Description 
Expense  
Amount 

 
 

    

 
 

    

     

     

     

     

     

Total Requested $ 
 
 
The information I give on this form is true and correct to the best of my knowledge.  I realize if I give information 
that is not true OR if I withhold information, I can be lawfully punished for fraud or perjury.  I may also have to re-
pay the State of Oklahoma for any payments or claims incurred which were paid due to my fraud or error.  (28 
USC 1746) 
 
Signature:  ___________________________________________ __      Today’s Date:   ___________________ 

Applicant Information 
 
Name: Last:  ____________________________ First: ________________________________ M.I: _____    
 
SSN:  _________ - _______ - ___________  Daytime Phone Number:  (______)____________________ 
 
Address:  ____________________________________ City:  _____________________ State:  ________ 
 
Employer Name:  ______________________________________________________________________    

http://www.insureoklahoma.org/
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History of Insure  
 Oklahoma/O-EPIC 

 
Oklahoma Employer and Employee Partnership for Insurance Coverage        
(Insure Oklahoma/O-EPIC) was founded in 2005 to provide health coverage 
to uninsured and working Oklahomans.  
 
Insure Oklahoma/O-EPIC is a program under the SoonerCare umbrella 
managed by the Oklahoma Health Care Authority. This program consists of 
two branches of benefits. 

  
One branch is the Premium Assistance program geared to small businesses 
and offers premium subsidy assistance for qualified group health care plans to 
eligible employees.  

 
The second branch is an individual plan designed as a safety net for eligible 
people who cannot access group health care coverage through their employer. 
This plan also extends coverage to eligible people who are currently 
uninsured self-employed individuals, workers whose employers do not 
provide health coverage, sole proprietors and the unemployed who are 
seeking work. 

 
For more information please contact: 
 
  

Insure Oklahoma/O-EPIC Helpline 
1-888-365-3742 

405-416-6848 (TDD) 
Monday through Friday-7:30 a.m. to 5:30 p.m. 

 or 

Insure Oklahoma/O-EPIC website: 
www.insureoklahoma.org 

 


